RSS

September 13th, 2014

14 Sep

So, tomorrow I meet my Outtatown team members. Wow!
For people who are reading this and don’t know (and you exist! The website says so!) Outtatown is a missions/Bible school program run by the Canadian Mennonite University. It’s a one-year program. I’ll spend my first semester travelling around Canada, doing service projects and taking courses. For the second semester, we split into two groups, and one goes to Guatemala and the other to South Africa. I am in the South Africa group.
Now you know.
I’ve been waiting for this since I got my acceptance letter in the spring, and quite frankly time has flown. I was pretty nervous this morning setting out, but we had second breakfast around 11 o’clock this morning and since then I’ve been feeling pretty good so maybe I was just hungry.
Of course, the past couple weeks have been a mess of goodbyes and packing. It’s been get up, pack and clean, meet someone for food of a sort, run errands to work or the store for last minutes supplies or dropping off this or that. Then home again to pack and clean. The worst part is saying goodbye to people when your situation hasn’t really sunk in. I mean, in my head, I know I’m going to be gone for three months, but I don’t feel like I will. Even though I spent all day driving to Winnipeg, I feel like I’ll be home in short order, not surrounded by strangers in a canoe.
Strangers. Really, that’s the worrying part. I’m kind of bad at social situations and so who knows how this will go. Hopefully I’ll make some good friends, but I’ll miss everyone at home, too, I know. Unfortunately, I only have two pictures. It’s a bit of a fail that I only have two printed pictures to take with me. A picture of Emilie, and that one from the pit band. Family and friends, when you send your Christmas cards, you should send me a picture, too. But one. Not a bajillion.
In reality, I feel pretty prepared for the rest of it. Even for the strangers, I’ve been in those situations before. I just have to make an effort and make sure to take time for myself when I can. Maybe someone will take pity on me and be my not-socially-awkward friend.
I’m not going to stress about it.
It may be a while until you hear from me again. I don’t know when I’ll have wifi, but maybe expect lots of updates at once. Maybe don’t. It depends. I’ll date them, though, like this, so that you know what happened when.
Well, that’s about it. Keep me and the team in your prayers.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 14, 2014 in Around the World

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
LadyFace

Laura Gabrielle Feasey

Spectrum Educational Services

Engaging Life Issues Autistically

honestme363

revealing my inner narrator

Afthead

Where I keep my knit hats, my mommy eyes, and my writing muse

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

